查看: 1001|回复: 4

[评论待译] McClatchy:Yes, we have no computers

[复制链接]
发表于 2009-3-22 12:08 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
本帖最后由 I'm_zhcn 于 2009-3-23 23:16 编辑

Yes, we have no computers
http://washingtonbureau.typepad.com/china/2009/03/yes-we-have-no-computers.html

Posted by Tim Johnson Posted By Tim Johnson – Sat Mar 21, 9:57 am ET

I got a very interesting email from a regular reader of this blog. He lives in Zhengzhou in Henan Province, and recently had an unusual experience trying to buy a computer.

I can't vouch that his experience is the same across China, but it wouldn't surprise me if it were.

The following is his email. I only have removed a few sentences giving his identity:

I have a maddening and interesting story to relate to you. Might be an interesting story for you.

I am a filmmaker. I came to China in 2002 twice making documentaries and a year later came back to stay. I've been teaching and doing my photography for the last five years but not a lot of video. Oh, I've been shooting a lot of video but without a good computer to edit my stuff, I haven't really been doing a lot. A few months ago, I decided to buy a powerful media computer and start producing TV again. I've been looking, deciding the perfect computer for my needs. I've been to the Chinese Lenovo, Sony and Dell websites. I finally decided on a Lenovo workhorse of a computer. Found it on the Chinese Lenovo website. Powerful processor, 1TB hard drive, tons of ram, HD video board and Blue Ray DVD burner. Nice, nice machine...nice price too, 10,000 yuan.